hijz’s tech notes


Linux: for beginner

Posted in Computer Science,Linux,Uncategorized by hijz on April 26, 2008

I’d never know that Mac OS X is based on Unix-kernel until senpai made me known that. Ironically, in my programming lectures, senseis use Apple MacBook for teaching Linux. I thought senseis just want to look cool :). Anyway, I am Linux user too, but i’m using it very rarely. I have a CD of Live Linux Knoppix which i only used when my Windows is halting. Other than that i prefer using Windows. Recently, I’m one of Vista Enterprise users.

Back to Linux, why i need to know about Linux, well because it free-license maybe. By the way, I already complete downloading Linux Fedora and waiting for burning onto DVD. I still googling why Linux is been said to be so good. I found this in Wikipedia:

Predominantly known for its use in servers, Linux is supported by corporations such as Dell, Hewlett-Packard, IBM, Novell, Oracle Corporation, Red Hat, and Sun Microsystems. It is used as an operating system for a wide variety of computer hardware, including desktop computers, supercomputers, video game systems, such as the PlayStation 2 and PlayStation 3, several arcade games, and embedded devices such as mobile phones, routers, and stage lighting systems. [1]

But for most of user eyes, especially in Malaysia, or other places, Windows is still the most ease-to-use OS besides Mac OS X. Linux, in the other hands, kinda geek look work with it GNOME (like command prompt in Windows). So Linux is not targeted for home-user, or amateur computer users. Unless for hand-held devices or game consoles.

Linux

Linux was firstly created by Linus Torvals, Unix(a historical operating system)-like system, which are not for commercial market, but for computer developers in order to running bigger task of computering. For example, managing network, in the other words managing the huge number of other computers. Linux has flexibility in changing its core code to meet the conditions.

Although i said it’s not made commercially, but some of developers redesign the Linux and distribute it for commercial like RedHat. It is also made for other purposes too like education. Knoppix, for example. Knoppix distribution is equipped with various programming compilers, electrical eduware, sky viewer, and other maths softwares.

For know, im experimenting of using Linux Fedora Core 2 at my university for use of WEB server. For a beginner like me, i learnt of using lots of command, syntax and GUI interface. Install and check the OS whether running properly or not.

Hopefully, i could build my own Linux-base computer for entertainment sometimes. Which is could connected to TV, and plays DVD or BluRays Discs and could access “Weather forecast”.

[1] Linux – Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux, April 26th 2008

2 Responses to 'Linux: for beginner'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Linux: for beginner'.

  1. dxcore69 said,

    I use windows because its easy and got many and good softwares and games but in linux I am stuck with Command Prompt to many things, and linux is deprived of professional softwares and games in my point of view and I havent found anyone near me completely depending on Linux. They install and delete linux in a few days like me. Why still all the things in linux cant be done without Terminal Commands?

  2. hijz said,

    It’s kind of programming inside the OS. You need to know the code for setting the system. Somehow there’s also in GUI’s way. But as you said, not all can be done with GUI.

    So it is leaved to LINUX developers to lessen the use of Terminal Commands.


Leave a comment